The Drawing Room was restored in 1992. Remnants of the original wall, ceiling and frieze papers have been conserved.
The entire wall paper frieze was recreated in the 1990s by Leonie Woolhouse.
The original fireplace tiling and mantelpiece, which was lost in the 1950s when the room was converted into two bedrooms and a bathroom, have been reconstructed. The fireplace has an original grate and brass firedogs.
The Drawing Room is the only room in Urrbrae House to have its original curtains from when the Waites lived in the House. The curtains were generously returned to Urrbrae House in recent years by Peter Morgan, great-grandson of Peter Waite. Their conservation was paid for by the Friends of Urrbrae House.
Another original feature in the room is a tapestry firescreen which was kindly restored to the House by Marion Wells, great-granddaughter of Peter Waite.
The Drawing Room also features an 1896 Steinway & Sons grand piano donated to the University of Adelaide for Urrbrae House by the eight grandchildren of Mrs Beatrice E Michell (1905 - 1992) who was the former owner of the piano.
The Drawing Room and grand piano are regularly used for concerts and events, please check our What's On page for upcoming events.
The Drawing Room is also available for hire, please visit our Event Bookings page for further details.